Sync time I _ Sincronotempo I

EN_India, New Delhi, December 2, 2010.

I’m at the Indira Gandhi International Airport, 23 km south of New Delhi. Here, every year, transit more than thirty million of passengers. But I feel alone, like a package aimlessly. Just a moment! Alone is not the exact word, abandoned instead I think is a fair-minded term.

The first thing that I discovered, thanks to my Sherlock Holmes’ intuition, was that just out of the terminal if you don’t have a ticket with no immediate departure nobody allows you go into anymore. The military, (puppets in a row in front of each entrance door), doesn’t even know in which language is written my name on the passport.

The only thing they understand is : a) I need something b) I’m a woman, and as a proper answer to my problem they tell me “internet doesn’t works”. Infact, Internet in this country coexists with the Stone Age.

Indira Gandhi International Airport

Indira Gandhi International Airport

Check in from Auckland, New Zealand. For at least 30 hours I have been at the mercy of the air conditioning and the company’s prepackaged lunches with I’ve flown. Of course vegetarian menu, carefully selected as good frequent flyer. The most interesting thing is that when you climb the summit of gold member there is always a smiling hostess that in mid-flight asks you if you’re enjoying the trip. But I’m always embarrassed by the answer.

In the last 5 flights I cried all the time, with close to my seat in series: a woman on the 320 pounds to whom it was impossible to ask to move because of the interlocking seat, a couple, husband and wife, of New Zealand, the only ones of their kind who would live outside of their country, Indira-Gandhi-International-Airportwho, after listening (half a minute) my sad story, they wanted to convince my boyfriend to follow me in Italy, a little girl who has not stopped a second to scream, cry, cough and jump on the seat, and thanks to her, at the Bankok Airport I bought “The case of Gordon Stewart Northcott,” famous killer of children in Riverside County. To finish the list I can not forget the young Somalian girl, annoyed for my each movement, because her veil, rolled up on her head with attention, was moving all the time. Only for her I have adopted a self quarantine that gave me a strong tingling in the right leg and the fear of losing it forever. Ah, but one thing I got it, never more a window seat!

However, I realized of being abandoned, or without a wireless network. No indication for the “hotel”. I try to put in motion my elephant’s memory and I just remember Gate 6 and Aurobindo. The rest was in my e-mail and I had used the last two New Zealand dollars on my phone card to listen the voicemail recorded on my phone in Melbourne, (“hey we have the last limoncello?”, probably the red-haired girl, remember? https://walkaboutravel.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/the-travel-to-africa-is-just-started/ ). I take a deep breath, trying to forget what I heard and I get in line to book a taxi.

Of course everyone here overtake you without much ceremony, so at the end the strongest prevails.

I change the line but the law of accelerated and lateral motion reminds me that as soon as you change the line in a busy road suddenly becomes the fastest one. I call it : the fight with my karma.

I pull the rank and keeping my heavy luggage between the legs I get closer to the door of the shack craning the neck. Sounds easy, the rate is even lower than that proposed.

I look around.

There are three boys muscled equipped with camera and machines with super lens, full of tattoos.

I would say come on, help me, I’m in trouble, I don’t know where to go, I’m alone! Hey you got it? I am alone here and must be dangerous outside must be dangerous if you’re wearing camouflage uniform!

I smile, at the end I eventually figured out that if you don’t do it, at least, ten times a day you feel a twinge in your stomach. At the same time the man in the shack hands me a piece of paper written with hieroglyphics, perhaps my only two indications for the taxi driver…

IT_ India, Nuova Delhi, 2 dicembre 2010.

Mi trovo all’aeroporto internazionale Indira Gandhi. 23 chilometri a sud di Nuova Delhi. Qui , ogni anno, transitano più di trenta milioni di passeggeri. Ma io mi sento sola, come un pacco postale senza meta. Sola non è il termine esatto, abbandonata invece credo sia un termine equanime.

Indira Gandhi  Airport _ Google maps : )

Indira Gandhi Airport _ Google maps : )

La prima cosa che ho scoperto, grazie al mio intuito da Sherlock Holmes, è che appena uscita dal terminal se non sei in possesso di un biglietto con partenza immediata nessuno ti fa più rientrare. I militari, in fila come marionette di fronte ad ogni porta d’accesso non sanno nemmeno in che lingua è scritto il mio nome sul passaporto. L’unica cosa che capiscono è che a) ho bisogno di qualcosa b) che sono una donna, e come debita risposta al mio problema  mi dicono che “internet no works”. In questo paese internet convive con l’età della pietra. Arrivo da AucklandNuova Zelanda. Per almeno 30 ore sono stata in balia dell’aria condizionata e dei pranzi preconfezionati della compagnia con cui ho volato.Naturalmente menu vegetariano attentamente selezionato quale buon frequent flyer. La cosa più interessante è che quando scali la vetta del socio oro c’è sempre una hostess sorridente che a metà volo ti chiede se ti stai godendo il viaggio. Ma io mi trovo sempre in imbarazzo per la risposta.

New Delhi

New Delhi

Gli ultimi 5 li ho fatti piangendo con vicino in serie: una donna sui 150 chili alla quale era impossibile chiedere di muoversi a causa del sedile ad incastro, marito e moglie neozelandesi, gli unici della loro razza che vivrebbero al di fuori del loro paese, che, dopo aver ascoltato (mezzo minuto) la mia storia strappalacrime, volevano convincere il mio fidanzato a seguirmi in Italia; una bambina che non ha smesso un secondo di gridare, piangere, tossire e saltare sul sedile, grazie alla quale, all’areoporto di Bankok ho comprato “Il caso di Gordon Stewart Northcott”, famoso killer di bambini di Riverside County. Per finire la lista non posso dimenticare la giovane ragazza somala che ad ogni mio movimento sembrava infastidirsi perché le si muoveva il velo che con tanta attenzione si era arrotolata sulla testa, per la quale ho adottato un auto quarantena che mi ha procurato un forte formicolio alla gamba destra temendo in seguito di averla persa per sempre. Ah ma una cosa l’ho capita, mai più un posto vicino al finestrino!

 Comunque realizzo di essere abbandonata, ovvero senza una rete wireless. Nessuna indicazione per l’albergo. Cerco di mettere in moto la mia memoria da elefante e mi ricordo solo Gate 6 e Aurobindo. Il resto l’ho lasciato nella mia posta elettronica e gli ultimi due dollari sulla mia tessera neozelandese li ho usati per ascoltare la segreteria telefonica a Melbourne (“hey prendiamo l’utlimo limoncello?”, probabilmente la ragazza dai capelli rossi, ricordate? https://walkaboutravel.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/the-travel-to-africa-is-just-started/). Faccio un respiro profondo e cerco di dimenticare che cosa ho sentito e mi metto in fila per prenotare un taxi.

 Naturalmente qui tutti ti passano davanti senza molte cerimonie, alla fine qui il più forte prevale.

Cambio fila ma la legge del moto accelerato e laterale mi ricorda che appena si cambia fila in una strada trafficata improvvisamente diventa quella più veloce. Io la chiamo la lotta con il mio Karma.

Mi faccio forte e tendendo tra le gambe la mia pesante valigia mi avvicino allo sportello del baracchino allungando il collo. Sembra facile, la tariffa è anche più bassa di quella prospettata.

Mi guardo intorno.

Ci sono tre ragazzotti muscolosi muniti di telecamera e macchine con superobiettivi, pieni di tatuaggi.

Mi viene da dire dai, aiutatemi, sono in difficoltà, non so dove andare, sono sola!! Ehi capito? Sono sola e qui deve essere pericoloso se voi indossate tute mimetiche.

Sorrido, alla fine ho capito che se non lo fai almeno dieci volte al giorno senti una stretta allo stomaco. Nello stesso momento l’uomo del baracchino mi tende un foglio dove ha forse scritto in geroglifici le mie uniche due indicazioni…

19 responses to “Sync time I _ Sincronotempo I

  1. Pingback: URL·

  2. Pingback: My Homepage·

  3. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that
    it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be
    benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. If some one desires expert view regarding running a blog afterward
    i advise him/her to go to see this web site, Keep up the good job.

  5. In fact when someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to other people that they will help,
    so here it occurs.

  6. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find
    It really useful & it helped me out much. I
    hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  7. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you should publish more on this
    topic, it may not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t talk about such
    topics. To the next! All the best!!

Leave a Reply

